U16 BB Capture Gold At Welland Little NHL Tourney, News (Guelph Minor Hockey Association)

News Article
News Article Image
U16 - BB | Nov 20, 2023 | Bruce Schlitt | 528 views
U16 BB Capture Gold At Welland Little NHL Tourney
The Guelph Gryphon U16BB's skated to a 3-0 victory over the Waterloo Wolves to win Gold at the Welland Little NL tournament on Sunday afternoon.

The Gryphons came out flying in the first period and pinned the Wolves in their own end, forcing countless icing's.  Despite numerous chances, Guelph was unable to cash in on their opportunities and the first period ended scoreless.

Guelph finally got on the board at 5:02 of the second when Peyton Smith jumped on a rebound and scored his third goal of the tournament for the eventual game winner.  Caleb Davison and Josh Eikelboom assisted on the play.

The Gryphons added to their lead 3:16 into the third period when Eikelboom cashed in off a scramble in from of the Waterloo net to make the score 2-0.  Davison and Milan Wilson assisted on the play.

Jackson Byard completed the scoring with an empty net tally with 1:38 remaining and tight defense and timely saves by goaltender Marshall Cline preserved the shutout and gave the Gryphons the championship.

In the semi final,  goalie Cole McQueen was outstanding in the Guelph net to lead the way to a 4-1 victory of the Garden City Falcons.    Peyton Smith with a pair,  Braeden Bunnaman, and Harrison Redford were the goal scorers.

Preliminary play saw Guelph defeat the Upper York Admirals 3-1,  fall to the Waterloo Wolves 3-2 and defeat the Garden City Falcons 3-1.

The victory was a total team effort as the team saw nine different goal scorers for the 14 goals scored during the weekend.  Guelph's defense and and goaltending were also sharp, allowing just seven goals in five games.

Congratulations go out to:

Cole McQueen (G)
Marshall Cline (G)
Harrison Redford (D)
Oliver Fletcher (D)
Cian Duffy (D)
Chase Roffel (D)
Ben Ivey (D)
Carter Devries (D)
Peter Schlitt (D)
Josh Eikelboom (F)
Peyton Smith (F)
Caleb Davison (F)
Sam MacIntyre (F)
Braedan Bunnaman (F)
Owen McNamee (F)
Ridge Thibodeau (F)
Milan Wilson (F)
Jackson Byard (F)